Latvia’s Andzejs Lebedevs won the Debrecen round of the of the Speedway Motor Racing European Championship on the Saturday the 8th of June 2024.

The Hungarian fans’ favourite was joined on the podium by Poland’s Maciej Janowski in second place and Sweden’s Jacob Thorssell in third place.

For the first time in the 11-year history of the Speedway Euro Championship (SEC), the European Individual Championship Final, 16 competitors competed in Hungary. The field included the top five finishers from last year’s event, including defending champion Mikkel Michelsen and his compatriot Leon Madsen, as well as several big names such as Poland’s Janowski and Piotr Pawlicki and Denmark’s Anders Thomsen. The Hungarians were represented by Norbert Magosi who, despite his best efforts, could not score in a strong field.

The final race did not start without problems, as Patrik Dudek, who was in with a chance of winning the race, crashed after the start and was disqualified. After the restart, the podium places were decided between three riders. Janowski and Lebedevs fought a serious battle for first place, overtaking each other several times.


Author: Debrecen4U