Hungary is among the oldest states in Europe

Hungary was founded in 895 and became a Christian kingdom in 1000 by the crowning of King St. Stephen I.

Hungary (Hungarian: Magyarország) is a landlocked country in Central Europe, with Budapest as its capital. Other major cities in the country are Debrecen, Szeged, Miskolc, Pécs and Győr.

Hungary is located in the Carpathian Basin, covering 93,030 square kilometres (1,030 sq mi), bordered by Slovakia to the north, Ukraine to the northeast, Romania to the east and southeast, Serbia to the south, Croatia and Slovenia to the southwest, and Austria to the west.

Hungary has a population of 9.7 million and the official language is Hungarian.


Total population: 9,690,988
Land area: 93,028 km2
Capital city: Budapest
Neighbouring countries: Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, Austria
Biggest lake: Balaton (592 km2 )
Highest mountain: Kékes (1,014 meters above sea level)
National day: 20 August (Feast of St. Stephen)
Government: Unitary parliamentary constitutional republic
Prime minister: Viktor Orbán (FIDESZ-KDNP)
Currency: Hungarian Forint (HUF)
Official language: Hungarian
National anthem: “Himnusz” (Hymn)
Member of EU: since 2004  Member of NATO: since 1999
Time zone: CET (UTC +1), CEST (UTC +2)
Country number/prefix: +36 Country code: HU
Official website: www.kormany.hu and www.kormany.hu/en